Objective of the bls

Collecting specific information regarding credit standards (other than interest) through a survey of loans granted by banks in the euro area is important to the Eurosystem, as credit is crucial to the functioning of the economy as well as to the transmission process of monetary policy decisions.

As credit institutions try to match the demand for financial means with their supply, they play an key role in the functioning of the economy, also with regard to the financing of entities who have in general less abilities to access the capital market. As a rule, credit supply is determined by the willingness of banks to grant credit. When banks opt for a more cautious approach in granting credit - for example because of less positive expectations of future economic development - this could lead to a decrease in expenses made by borrowers who face difficulties in finding alternative financing sources, and thus also to a possible slowdown of the growth in the economic activity. On the contrary, the economic activity could be stimulated when banks - in accordance to an optimistic outlook - ease their policy of approval of credits. This can also lead to increasing the cost of financial and real assets and to inflationary tensions.

Besides the importance of credits from banks to the functioning of the economy, the behavior of these banks with respect to the granting of credit will also influence the way in which the monetary policy affects the economy, or put in other words, the way in which monetary policy decisions affect the economy in general and the prices in particular. This "credit channel" can operate in several ways, namely via the supply of credits from banks ("credit channel from credit institutions in strict meaning"), via the availability and value of necessary guarantees to obtain a financing ("balance sheet channel") or via the availability of cash and cash equivalents ("cash flow channel").

In addition, the results of the survey provide information about the course of the demand for credit and their contributing factors.

Finally the results of the bls-survey not only complement existing statistics, but also offer a possibility to interpret their evolutions. Moreover, the information derived from the questions regarding the expectations should contribute to a better insight in future economic developments, and ease economic forecasts.

Objectifs du bls

La collecte d'informations spécifiques sur les conditions de crédit (autres que les taux d'intérêt) par l'intermédiaire d'une enquête sur la distribution du crédit bancaire dans la zone euro revêt une importance particulière pour l'Eurosystème, en raison du rôle fondamental joué par le crédit tant dans le fonctionnement de l'économie que dans le processus de transmission des décisions de politique monétaire.

En faisant se rencontrer l'offre et la demande de fonds, les banques jouent un rôle primordial dans le fonctionnement de l'économie, notamment au niveau du financement des entités, dont l'accès aux marchés des capitaux est dans l'ensemble limité. De façon générale, l'offre de crédit est déterminée par la capacité et la volonté des banques à consentir des prêts. Si les banques adoptent une attitude plus prudente dans l'octroi du crédit, suite, par exemple, à une détérioration du climat économique, cela peut entraîner une réduction des dépenses des emprunteurs qui éprouvent des difficultés à trouver d'autres sources de financement, et de là, un possible ralentissement de la croissance de l'activité économique. A l'opposé, si les banques, en raison de prévisions optimistes, assouplissent leur politique d'octroi de crédit, l'activité économique peut en être stimulée, mais un renchérissement des actifs financiers et réels ainsi que des tensions inflationnistes peuvent également en découler.

Parallèlement à l'importance des crédits bancaires pour le fonctionnement de l'économie, les variations dans le comportement des banques en matière d'octroi de crédits peuvent influencer le processus de transmission de la politique monétaire dans l'économie, c'est-à-dire la manière dont les décisions de politique monétaire se répercutent sur l'économie en général, et sur les prix en particulier. Ce "canal du crédit" peut fonctionner de diverses manières, par le biais de l'offre de crédits bancaires ("canal du crédit bancaire au sens strict"), de la disponibilité et de la valeur des garanties nécessaires à l'obtention d'un financement ("canal du bilan") ou de la disponibilité des liquidités ("canal du flux de trésorerie").

L'enquête permet en outre d'obtenir des informations sur l'évolution de la demande de prêts ainsi que les facteurs qui l'influencent.

Signalons enfin que les résultats de l'enquête sur la distribution du crédit bancaire ne font pas que compléter les statistiques existantes: ils permettent également d'interpréter leur évolution. En outre, les informations fournies par les questions relatives aux attentes, devraient contribuer à mieux appréhender les évolutions économiques futures et faciliter ainsi la formulation de projections économiques.