There are eight euro coins, worth 1, 2, 5, 10, 20 and 50 cents, € 1 and € 2. All have a European side and a national side, but can be used anywhere, throughout the euro area countries.

The common side was designed by a Belgian, Luc Luycx, of the Belgian Royal Mint; it symbolises the cohesion of the European Union. The motif for the Belgian national side was designed by Alfons Keustermans; it represents the portrait of King Albert II, surrounded by the 12 stars representing Europe, together with the stamp of the Royal Mint and the year.

In Belgium, the coins are issued by the National Bank on behalf of the Ministry of Finance. Throughout the euro area, it is the national mints in charge of the currency that are responsible for manufacturing the eight euro coins, so in Belgium that is the Royal Mint of Belgium, a department of the federal public service for Finance.

The coins differ in size, weight, material, colour and thickness; these technical specifications are public. A sophisticated system of quality control ensures that the coins meet the standards set for automatic vending machines.

The use of the coins as a medium for advertising is prohibited. (cf. the Belgian criminal code: in Dutch or in French, pdf)