There are two series of banknotes. The first series comprises seven different denominations: €5, €10, €20, €50, €100, €200 and €500. The second series or Europa series consists of six denominations and will be completed with the issuance of the €100 and €200 in 2019. There will be no €500 banknote. The first series of notes, originally issued in 2002, is gradually being replaced by the Europa series. All the notes are legal tender throughout the euro area.