• Latin Monetary Union

    The Latin Monetary Union (1865-1926) was an agreement between a number of countries whereby their coins were minted according to exactly the same monetary standard. While the large silver and gold coins of the different countries varied in external appearance, they now had the same value. The countries which joined the Latin Monetary Union were France, Italy, Switzerland, Belgium and Greece.