• European Monetary System

    Between March 1979 and January 1999, the countries of the European Community formed the European Monetary System (EMS). The exchange rate mechanism of the EMS was based on a system of agreed central rates between participating currencies. In accordance with the Maastricht Treaty, the EMS was transformed into the Economic and Monetary Union (EMU) in 1999.