• Euro area

    The 20 EU countries that have adopted the euro form the euro area. In accordance with the Maastricht Treaty, they conduct a single monetary policy under the responsibility of the ECB’s Governing Council. In 2023, the euro area comprises Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Cyprus, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia and Spain. The microstates of Andorra, Monaco, San Marino and the Vatican have also adopted the euro by virtue of a formal agreement concluded with the European Community. Montenegro and Kosovo also use the euro, but without any formal agreement.