Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), based in Paris, is regarded as an important discussion forum for its 30 member countries "sharing a commitment to democratic government and the market economy”. Among other things, countries use the OECD analyses for close monitoring of their macroeconomic and financial situation.

The OECD’s activities relate to economic policy in the broadest sense, i.e. all aspects of government policy which fall within the economic sphere (macroeconomic policy, industrial policy, energy, agriculture, foreign trade, aid and development) or those which lend themselves to an economic approach, such as cost-benefit analysis (education, scientific research, transport, the environment and social affairs). The only areas not covered by the work of the organisation are defence, the maintenance of order and justice.

The countries meet and exchange information via committees specialising in particular subjects. The committees are made up of representatives of the member countries, either government officials or permanent delegates to the OECD. The National Bank takes part in the work of the Economic Policy Committee and its working parties and the work of the Committee on Financial Markets and the Committee on Capital Movements and Invisible Transactions.