Generation €uro Students’ Award 2019

Generation €uro Students’ Award is a contest for groups of students in the third cycle of secondary education [corresponding to sixth form level] in 12 euro area countries. It is organised by the European Central Bank and the national central banks of the euro area; for Belgium, that is the National Bank. Belgium has one competition in Dutch and one in French.

The competition aims to give euro area secondary school pupils (aged between 16 and 19 years) the chance to become familiar with the concept of price stability, monetary policy and interest rates. It comprises an on-line questionnaire and two other challenges which test not only their knowledge of economics but also their critical faculties and their creativity.

In practice


1st round: On-line quiz (1 October – 31 October 2019)

After forming their team, participants can tackle the on-line quiz about the ECB, the Eurosystem, monetary policy, the euro etc. (on the website The teams with the highest scores will go through to the second round.....

... but will first be invited to attend half a day of special training about the National Bank (Students’ and Teachers’ Day, 20 November 2019).


2nd round: Explain. Decide (deadline: 8 February 2020)

In the second round the teams will have to explain monetary policy in their own words ... and propose duly reasoned decisions. It will be up to them to find the relevant data – but they will not be left to do it on their own!

Final: topical questions (18 March 2020)

The teams that make it to the third round will have to answer some topical questions: Why are interest rates so low? What are the risks? How do we get out of this situation? The experts at the National Bank, teachers and the press are waiting for your answers!


The National Bank will give prizes to all teams reaching the final (awards for both the individuals and their school). The winning team will join all the winners from the other countries in Frankfurt for a 2-day programme on 19 and 20 May 2020, where they will meet the ECB president and other euro area central bank governors.